Skip to content

بطل محلية – جامبياني فيشر مقامى وbottleboat له

بطل محلية – جامبياني فيشر مقامى وbottleboat له published on لا توجد تعليقات في بطل محلية – جامبياني فيشر مقامى وbottleboat له
Eco hero - Jambiani fisherman Makame Ali
بيئة بطل – علي المناطق الجافة صياد جامبياني

عندما بدأ هذا الصياد زنجبار بناء قارب من الزجاجات البلاستيكية, اعتقد جيرانه أنه كان مجنونا.

ولكن الآن, بابو مقامى هو واحد يضحك, كما القارب كان يبنى من القناني البلاستيكية يتيح له الذهاب الى الصيد مهما كان الطقس, ترك جيرانه يراقب بحزن عن الشاطئ كلما كان البحر هائج جدا للقوارب التقليدية.

قرية الصيد جامبياني هي الجنة صورة مثالية على الساحل الشرقي هادئ من زنجبار. والنخيل مهدب, يطل شاطئ الرمال البيضاء والبحيرات الزرقاء إلى الشعاب المرجانية التهديب, الذي يعج بالحياة البحرية.

الشعاب المرجانية والبحيرات توفير الرزق الوحيد لمعظم الأسر, الذين يصطادون في البحيرة وعلى الشعاب المرجانية من المخبأ الزوارق الخشبية التقليدية.

لكن, عندما الرياح التجارية من ضربة غرب المحيط الهندي بقوة جدا, يمكن للموجات كسر على الشعاب جعلها خشنة للغاية للقوارب صغيرة للابحار من البحيرة محمية للشعاب المرجانية نفسها, حيث توجد أكبر والأكثر ربحية الأسماك. الزوارق التقليدية زنجبار ثقيلة إلى مجداف, وخطر غرق في البحار الثقيلة.

كما نمت الصيادين المحليين مقامى علي كبار السن, انه قلق أنه لن يكون قويا بما يكفي لمجداف الزورق له الثقيل. تشعر بالقلق إزاء دعم عائلته الكبيرة, وقال انه يتطلع من حوله عن وسيلة لجعل القارب أخف وزنا, وخطرت لهم فكرة استخدام الزجاجات البلاستيكية.

Makame's first bottleboat (photo copyright Peter Bennett 2012)
مقامى أول bottleboat المؤلف بيتر بينيت 2012

اعتقد جيرانه مرتبك كان يفقد عقله مع قوته. قالوا له انها ستعمل أبدا, وعندما جاء اولا bottleboat له خارج رباط في عاصفة وضاعت, انهم يتوقعون منه أن يستسلم. ولكن لم يثنه عن عزمه مقامى, وببساطة عاد إلى ورشة عمل لبناء نموذج أفضل.

في حين تم بناء القارب الأول حصرا من الزجاجات البلاستيكية, فقد ابتكر تصميم متطور في قوارب الكاياك الاعتصام على أعلى. العمود الفقري هو لوحة ركوب الأمواج القديم, مع زجاجات من البلاستيك للطفو, وقناة الكهربائية لجعلها أقوى وأكثر الهيدروديناميكية. نحتت ريش من المجاذيف له وعاء من البلاستيك الأصفر وانتقد إلى قطب, وتكييفها وعاء آخر وراء المقعد بمثابة إبقاء مربع.

bottleboat on the beach 2
محلية الصنع الجديد المعاد تدويرها قارب صيد مقامى و

مقامى الآن يكسب رزقه من Bottleboat الثالث.

مقامى يمكن له مجداف محلية الصنع, المعاد تدويرها الزورق بسرعة من خلال تصفح حيث الآخرين لا تجرؤ على الذهاب, خوفا من الزوارق الصغيرة التي أخذ على الماء بشكل أسرع مما يمكن إنقاذها.

التصميم المفتوح للBottleboat الثالث يعني الماء يتدفق باستمرار من خلال صناديق إبقاء, حفظ صيده على قيد الحياة وبصحة جيدة, حتى انه يمكن أن تبقي الصيد طوال اليوم بينما زوارق أخرى يجب أن تجلب الأسماك عودتهم إلى الشاطئ. قاربه وخفيفة الوزن جدا, قابل للطفو, وسهلة مجداف, انه لا يزال دعم بفخر عائلته, بينما كان لمعاصريه للتقاعد.

ليس فقط هو Bottleboat الثالث أخف وزنا, أكثر كفاءة وأكثر مرونة من القوارب التقليدية, مع ارتفاع أسعار الخشب, قوارب الكاياك مقامى وإعادة تدويرها أرخص لبناء.

على الرغم من أن الكثيرين في المجتمع لا تزال تشعر بالقلق من مائية غير تقليدية, السفير البيئي جامبياني المحلي أوكالا وزملائه فخورون.

Bottleboat
Bottleboat الثالث على استعداد للذهاب الصيد

"بعض السكان المحليين يرون أنه يفكر بطريقة مختلفة, وأعتقد أن هذا يعني أنه ليس ذكيا. لكنهم لا يدركون أنه أذكى من أي منهم. بعض الناس يخافون من قاربه ومترددة في محاولة شيء جديد. لكنه لا يهمني ما يعتقدون. في الأيام العاصفة, وهو واحد خارج الشعاب المرجانية, صيد السمك, في حين أنهم عالقون على الشاطئ. نعتقد انه ذكي جدا, ونأمل أن يتمكن من قدوة للاستدامة ".

وتخطط الآن لتوسيع مقامى عمله من خلال بناء أكثر bottleboats حتى يتمكن من اتخاذ السياح في جولات غطس تحت الماء مما يجعل من قارب نزهة خالية تماما من الانبعاثات.

"أنا أعرف من أين للعثور على الأخطبوط كبير,'

قال.

"أعتقد أن السياح يحبون أن يأتي ونرى ذلك - في قارب مصنوع من زجاجات!’

bottleboat in the ocean

الروبوتات يمكن الإيكولوجية كراكن تنظيف محيطاتنا?

الروبوتات يمكن الإيكولوجية كراكن تنظيف محيطاتنا? published on لا توجد تعليقات في الروبوتات يمكن الإيكولوجية كراكن تنظيف محيطاتنا?

kraken_unleashed_v3_by_papercutillustration-d5v4r2l

عندما رحلة MH370 اختفى دون أثر في 8عشر مسيرة 2014, على ما يبدو في مكان ما فوق المحيط الهندي الجنوبي, وكانت وسائل الاعلام في العالم بعد البحث والتدقيق في صور الأقمار الصناعية ذهولها إلى الكم الهائل من الحطام والمخلفات من حياتنا متناثرة عبر المحيط, التي كانت خاطئة لقطع من الطائرة المحطمة.

بالنسبة لأولئك منا المشاركة في القضايا البيئية البحرية, كانت هناك مفاجأة أقل من استقالة حزينة. هذا ما كنا نحاول أن أشرح لسنوات.

النفايات البلاستيكية وغيرها في المحيطات هي مشكلة ضخمة, قبل التعرض في أعقاب اختفاء الطائرة, فشلت في جذب اهتمام واسع النطاق.

الذين يعيشون على جزيرة في المحيط الهندي – زنجبار – البلاستيك المحيط من المستحيل تجاهل. لأنه لا يمكن تصورها تناثر بعض فسحة نادرا والبعيدة من المحيط المفتوح, انها هنا على الشاطئ في أقدامنا. يغسل في من المحيط على كل المد, وأسف, لا يزال أكثر ملقاة في الشوارع, الشجيرات والشواطئ, ويغسل من الشوارع ومصارف المياه لدينا في المحيط, في كل مرة تمطر.

النفايات البلاستيكية, حتى من المدن غير الساحلية, يتم غسلها في الأنهار والمحيطات. من حبيبات بلاستيكية صغيرة في الدعك الوجه إلى حاويات بأكملها التي تسقط السفن, نحن لدينا تلويث المحيط الثمين مع متهورة.

مرة واحدة في المحيط, قطعة من البلاستيك تصبح المغلفة مع الملوثات التي تنقلها المياه الأخرى مثل المواد اللاصقة, النفط والمبيدات الحشرية, وكثير تؤكل من قبل الأسماك, الطيور والسلاحف, والتي قد تموت, الافراج عن البلاستيك لأن تؤكل مرة أخرى, أو أن تؤكل من قبل الحيوانات المفترسة أنفسهم (مثل التونة) في جثثهم الملوثات تتراكم. على مر الزمن, يحط البلاستيكية, فواصل إلى جسيمات أصغر أصغر, وأكثر النشرات والمواد الكيميائية المجاميع المزيد من الملوثات التي تؤثر على الحياة البحرية أبعد والدخول في السلسلة الغذائية. لدينا السلسلة الغذائية.

http://inhabitat.com/19-year-old-student-develops-ocean-cleanup-array-that-could-remove-7250000-tons-of-plastic-from-the-worlds-oceans/لحل هذه المشكلة سوف تتطلب إجراءات هامة, وتصور فكرة طموحة وفقا لذلك 19-بويان السلط عاما في 2012. وهو يقترح لتثبيت ما أستطيع أن أفضل وصف بأنه خير للبيئة كراكن الروبوت في مركز كل تلفيف المحيطية. سيتكون الجهاز من مجموعة من الطفرات العائمة على بعد عدة كيلومترات طويلة, توجيه الحطام البلاستيكية التي تنقلها المياه إلى منصة المعالجة المركزية, أن يرشح بها ويستهلك. هؤلاء -krakens البيئية صفائف المحيط تنظيف يمكن, يدعي, تنظيف المحيط من الحطام البلاستيك في غضون عشر سنوات.

وهذا العمل حقا? هذه المادة الحيوية من قبل 5 الدوامات المؤسس Stiv ويلسون يقول لا, انها لن.

رد فعلي الأولي قد تكون خيبة أمل. وضع جانبا ببساطة كيف أن الروبوتات بارد للبيئة كراكن يكون, لحل المشاكل العالمية العملاقة مثل هذا واحد يحتاج الناس مع الخيال لنخرج كبيرة, الأفكار الإبداعية والمبتكرة, وانه من العار بالنسبة لهم ليكون ذلك طرقت بشدة أسفل. سيكون من الجميل جدا أن نعتقد أننا – أو أفضل من ذلك, بعض أكثر مراوغة "انهم’ – يمكن أن يجعل المشكلة تختفي بسهولة كما أن.

لكن – بحلول الوقت الذي كنت قد انتهيت من قراءة نقد, أنا كان لا يزال يشعر بالتفاؤل. من الفقرة قبل الأخيرة (منجم التركيز):

وهنا شيء من شأنها أن تهب عقلك ل تنظيف المحيط من البلاستيك العائمة, أنت لا تحتاج إلى الخروج والحصول عليه, وسوف يأتي لك. ... على كل مدار من تلفيف, فإن تلفيف بصق نحو نصف محتوياته. وهذه المحتويات ثم إما إدخال تيار آخر أو تلفيف أو يغسل حتى على الأرض. كما يكرر هذا, وهو ما يعني في نهاية المطاف *, وسوف يبصقون جميع البلاستيكية في المحيطات - ما الذي هو السبب في أنك تجد أجزاء من البلاستيك على كل شاطئ في العالم. تنظيف الشاطئ تنظيف تلفيف.

*شريطة أن لا يحل محل ذلك باستمرار مع البلاستيك الجديد, هل تمانع!

ربما هذا يعني عدم وجود الروبوتات للبيئة كراكن. لكن …نحن نعلم بالفعل كيفية إصلاح هذه. الكثير منا يفعلون ذلك بالفعل. انها ليست حرة, ولكن من السهل, وليس من الضروري أن تكلف كثيرا في كل شيء. إذا كنا مواكبة جهودنا الجماعية لتنظيف الشواطئ ووقف القمامة لدينا من تنتهي هناك في المقام الأول, سوف النفايات المحيط تأتي في النهاية يعود لنا.

لكنه يحصل على نحو أفضل حتى من ذلك. لم رائد خلف للبيئة كراكن فكرة الروبوت لا تدع هذا على مستواه – انه تمسك بموقفه وأتم بحثه. لديه رد لهذا النقد مع 530 الصفحة تقرير الجدوى, لخصت هنا, الذي يصل إلى حد الطعن شامل ومقنع جدا من الاعتراضات ...

… لذلك ربما فقط, ccean clean-up arrays may yet be a viable tool in the arsenal to clean up our oceans – and eco-kraken might live after all.

kraken gif

أقسام جديدة في Ecologue! التحقق منها واسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك!

أقسام جديدة في Ecologue! التحقق منها واسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك! published on لا توجد تعليقات في أقسام جديدة في Ecologue! التحقق منها واسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك!

لقد تم صنع بعض التغييرات في جميع أنحاء هنا, إضافة أقسام جديدة, ويسعدني أن أعلن الميزات الجديدة!

ترجمة Ecologue

  • الإنجليزية ليس لغتك الأولى? لا مشكلة – يمكنك الآن ترجمة هذا الموقع! إنظر للأعلى وإلى اليسار وسترى صف من الأعلام. انقر على واحد التي تتعلق باللغة التي تفضلها، وسوف تترجم على موقع. كنت حتى يمكن تصحيح أي أخطاء في الترجمة.
  • واسمحوا لي أن أعرف كيف يعمل هذا بالنسبة لك! يمكنني تغيير اللغات المتوفرة وإضافة مواقع جديدة. لذلك اسمحوا لي أن أعرف الذي تستخدمه (للتأكد من أنني يبقيه هناك), أو إذا كانت لغتك ليست هناك حتى الآن, اسمحوا لي أن نعرف في التعليقات وسوف أقوم بإضافة لانها لكم!

موارد

  • في حين أننا نتحدث عن لغات, تحت علامة التبويب الموارد أعلاه يمكنك أن تجد الآن صفحة من اقوال السواحلية relating to the environment that you might enjoy. Let us know in the comments if you know any more (أو إذا كان لديك أية تصويبات لترجمات).
  • أيضا تحت علامة التبويب الموارد هي بعض وصلات. أخطط لتوسيع هذه الصفحة مع مزيد من الفروع والمزيد من الروابط مع مرور الوقت, أن تكون مفيدة لكم كما ممكن. حتى إذا كان لديك أي روابط تعتقد أنه ينبغي أن يكون هناك, أو أقسام جديدة لطلب, اسمحوا لي أن نعرف في التعليقات!
  • الصفحة الثالثة تحت قسم الموارد غير التنزيلات – والتي سوف تصبح مستودعا لجميع أنواع المواد مثيرة للاهتمام تتعلق الموضوعات أدون – ويشمل حتى الآن وجود صلة لكتاب النص كتبت مع الزملاء في Chumbe مرة أخرى في 2011. الاتصال بي إذا كنت ترغب في نسخة السواحيلية!

Ecologue تسوق!

  • ميزة جديدة مثيرة الثالث هو متجر! تساعد على الحفاظ على البيانات المدونات (والعمل على دعم شرق أفريقيا المستدامة'ق المشاريع) عن طريق زيارة صفحة متجر جديد.
  • وهناك إدارات مختلفة '’ استنادا إلى حيث كنت تسوق من. Ecologue تسوق في المملكة المتحدة هو هنا ~ و Ecologue متجر DE هنا.البعض الآخر قريبا – راجع Ecologue تسوق الصفحة الرئيسية لروابط (التي يمكنك استخدامها للتسوق من الآن)!
  • ثانية – هذا ومن المفترض أن تكون مفيدة بالنسبة لك, لذلك اسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك وما هي المنتجات التي ترغب في الاطلاع على. إذا كان لديك بالفعل أي من المنتجات لقد سردت, أحب أن تبدأ بما في ذلك بعض المنتجات الاستعراضات منك! حتى يكون لها نظرة حول, البدء في التسوق, أو اتباع الروابط إلى مواقع أمازون إذا لم تتمكن من العثور على ما تريد هنا (حتى الآن).

حتى ينعم النظر في جميع أنحاء الميزات الجديدة واسمحوا لي أن أعرف ما هو رأيك!

 

ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع!

ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع! published on 1 تعليق في ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع!

هذا هو واحد من أحكم الرسائل رأيته في حياتي.

محادثات TED في العام استثنائية ولكن ما يلي التحدث بواسطة TED زميل ارنستو Sirolli مطلقة يجب أن نرى.

القراء على عرض النطاق الترددي محدودة يمكن تحميل الكلام كملف صوتي هنا, وكان متوفرا أيضا في ذلك الرابط مع ترجمة في العديد من اللغات (على الرغم من سوء الحظ لا السواحيلية بعد).

بالنسبة لأولئك على الانترنت بطيئة جدا, topnonprofits.org له موجزا الخطية الشاملة للفيديو.

وإنني أوصي بشدة جميع المهتمين في مجال التنمية ونجاحاتها وإخفاقاتها تكريس الوقت لمشاهدة, قرأ, استمع, أو غير ذلك تشرب هذا الكلام الهائل.

على الرغم من أنني قد أرسلت الرابط قبل, الانترنت بطيئة يعني أنني لم ينتهي مشاهدته حتى بضعة أسابيع مضت. ولكن أنا سعيدة للغاية فعلت أخيرا!

الرسالة كاملة هي قوية جدا ولكن كانت هناك بعض البتات على وجه الخصوص التي ضربت على وتر حساس حقا وجعلني أفكر. هكذا – ذهاب ومشاهدته الآن! وسأعود قريبا مع أفكاري!

مرحبا بكم في Ecologue!

مرحبا بكم في Ecologue! published on لا توجد تعليقات في مرحبا بكم في Ecologue!

Welcome to ecologue, my new blog in which I will be posting on all things eco.

Before I get going properly, here is one of my favourite quotations that has inspired me to do what I do.

لا شك في أن مجموعة صغيرة من مدروس, يمكن للمواطنين الملتزمين تغيير العالم;

في الواقع, it’s the only thing that ever has.

– مارغريت ميد, Anthropologist –

Primary Sidebar

Secondary Sidebar

مدونون معجبون بهذه:

Skip to content

Homegrown Hero – Jambiani fisher Makame and his bottleboat

Homegrown Hero – Jambiani fisher Makame and his bottleboat published on No Comments on Homegrown Hero – Jambiani fisher Makame and his bottleboat
Eco hero - Jambiani fisherman Makame Ali
Eco hero – Jambiani fisherman Makame Ali

When this Zanzibar fisherman started building a boat from plastic bottles, his neighbours thought he was mad.

But now, Babu Makame is the one laughing, as the boat he built from plastic bottles lets him go fishing whatever the weather, leaving his neighbours watching wistfully from the shore whenever the sea is too rough for their traditional boats.

The fishing village of Jambiani is a picture-perfect paradise on the quiet East coast of Zanzibar. A palm-fringed, white sand beach overlooks an azure lagoon to the fringing coral reef, which teems with marine life.

The reef and lagoon provide the sole livelihood for most families, who fish in the lagoon and on the reef from traditional wooden dugout canoes.

However, when the trade winds of the western Indian Ocean blow too strongly, the waves breaking on the reef can make it too rough for the small boats to sail out of the protected lagoon to the reef itself, where the biggest and most profitable fish are found. Zanzibar’s traditional canoes are heavy to paddle, and at risk of capsizing in heavy seas.

As local fisher Makame Ali grew older, he worried he would no longer be strong enough to paddle his heavy canoe. Concerned about supporting his large family, he looked around him for a way to make a lighter boat, and came up with the idea of using plastic bottles.

Makame's first bottleboat (photo copyright Peter Bennett 2012)
Makame’s first bottleboat Copyright Peter Bennett 2012

His bemused neighbours thought he was losing his mind along with his strength. They told him it would never work, and when his first bottleboat came off its mooring in a storm and was lost, they expected him to give up. But Makame was undeterred, and simply went back to the workshop to build a better model.

While the first boat was built exclusively from plastic bottles, he has refined the design into a sophisticated sit-on-top kayak. The backbone is an old windsurf board, with plastic bottles for buoyancy, and electric conduit to make it stronger and more hydrodynamic. The blades of his paddles are carved from a plastic yellow jerrycan and lashed to a pole, and another adapted jerrycan behind the seat serves as a keep box.

bottleboat on the beach 2
Makame’s new homemade recycled fishing boat

Makame now earns his living from Bottleboat III.

Makame can paddle his homemade, recycled canoe quickly through the surf where others dare not go, for fear of their small canoes taking on water faster than they can bail it out.

The open design of Bottleboat III means water continually flows through the keep box, keeping his catch alive and healthy, so he can keep fishing all day while other boats must bring their fish back to shore. His boat is so lightweight, buoyant, and easy to paddle, that he is still proudly supporting his family, while his contemporaries have had to retire.

Not only is Bottleboat III lighter, more efficient and more resilient than traditional boats, with wood prices rising, Makame’s recycled kayak is cheaper to build.

Although many in the community are still wary of the unconventional watercraft, local Jambiani environmental ambassador Okala and his colleagues are proud.

Bottleboat
Bottleboat III ready to go fishing

‘Some local people see he thinks differently, and think that means he’s not clever. But they don’t realise that he is cleverer than any of them. Some people are afraid of his boat and reluctant to try something new. But he doesn’t care what they think. On stormy days, he is the one outside the reef, fishing, while they are stuck on shore. We think he is very smart, and hope he can set an example of sustainability.’

Makame now plans to expand his business by building more bottleboats so that he can take tourists on snorkelling tours making it a completely emission-free boat excursion.

‘I know where to find the big octopus,’

he said.

‘I think tourists would like to come and see that – in a boat made from bottles!’

bottleboat in the ocean

Can eco-kraken robots clean our oceans?

Can eco-kraken robots clean our oceans? published on No Comments on Can eco-kraken robots clean our oceans?

kraken_unleashed_v3_by_papercutillustration-d5v4r2l

When flight MH370 disappeared without trace on 8th March 2014, apparently somewhere over the southern Indian Ocean, the world’s media following the search and scrutinising the satellite images were astounded at the sheer volume of debris and detritus of our lives strewn across the ocean, that were mistaken for bits of broken plane.

For those of us involved in marine environmental issues, there was less surprise than sad resignation. This is what we’ve been trying to explain for years.

Plastic and other waste in the oceans is a huge problem that, prior to the exposure in the wake of the plane’s disappearance, had failed to attract widespread attention.

Living on an Indian Ocean island – Zanzibar – ocean plastic is impossible to ignore. Because it isn’t littering some scarcely conceivable and distant expanse of open ocean, it’s right here on the beach at our feet. It washes in from the ocean on every tide, and regrettably, still more is dumped in streets, bushes and beaches, and washes from our streets and drains into the ocean, every time it rains.

Plastic waste, even from landlocked cities, is washed into rivers and to the ocean. From tiny plastic granules in facial scrubs to whole containers that fall off ships, we’re contaminating our precious ocean with reckless abandon.

Once in the ocean, pieces of plastic become coated with other waterborne pollutants such as glues, oil and pesticides, and many are eaten by fish, birds and turtles, which may die, releasing the plastic to be eaten again, or be eaten themselves by predators (such as tuna) in whose bodies the pollutants accumulate. Over time, plastic degrades, breaks into smaller smaller particles, and releases more chemicals and aggregates more pollutants that further impact oceanic life and get into the food chain. Our food chain.

http://inhabitat.com/19-year-old-student-develops-ocean-cleanup-array-that-could-remove-7250000-tons-of-plastic-from-the-worlds-oceans/To solve this problem will require significant action, and an accordingly ambitious idea was conceived by 19-year-old Boyan Slat in 2012. He proposes to install what I can best describe as a benevolent eco-kraken robot in the centre of each oceanic gyre. The device would consist of an array of floating booms several kilometres long, guiding waterborne plastic debris to a central processing platform, that filters it out and consumes it. These eco-krakens ocean clean-up arrays could, he claims, clean up the ocean of plastic debris within a decade.

Will this really work? This critical article by 5 Gyres-founder Stiv Wilson says no, it won’t.

My initial reaction might have been disappointment. Setting aside simply how cool eco-kraken robots would be, to solve colossal global problems like this one requires people with the imagination to come up with big, creative and innovative ideas, and it’s a shame for them to be so roundly knocked down. It would be so nice to think we – or better still, some more elusive ‘they’ – could make the problem go away as easily as that.

However – by the time I’d finished reading the critique, I was still feeling optimistic. From the penultimate paragraph (emphasis mine):

Here’s something that will blow your mind—to clean the ocean of floating plastic, you don’t need to go out and get it, it will come to you. … upon each orbit of a gyre, the gyre will spit out about half its contents. These contents will then either enter another current or gyre or wash up on land. As this repeats, it means that eventually*, all the plastic in the ocean will be spit – out which is why you find plastic fragments on every beach in the world. Beach cleanup is gyre cleanup.

*provided we aren’t continually replacing it with new plastic, mind you!

Maybe that means no eco-kraken robots. But …we already know how to fix this. Many of us are already doing it. It’s not free, but it’s easy, and doesn’t need to cost much at all. If we keep up our collective efforts to clean beaches and stop our rubbish from ending up there in the first place, the ocean waste will eventually come back to us.

But it gets better even than that. The pioneer behind the eco-kraken robot idea didn’t let this get him down – he stood his ground and did his research. He has responded to this criticism with a 530 page feasibility report, summarised here, which amounts to a comprehensive and pretty convincing rebuttal of the objections…

… so just maybe, ccean clean-up arrays may yet be a viable tool in the arsenal to clean up our oceans – and  eco-kraken might live after all.

kraken gif

New sections on Ecologue! Check them out and let me know what you think!

New sections on Ecologue! Check them out and let me know what you think! published on No Comments on New sections on Ecologue! Check them out and let me know what you think!

I’ve been making some more changes around here, adding new sections, and am delighted to announce the new features!

Translate Ecologue

  • English not your first language? No problem – you can now translate this site! Look up and to the left and you’ll see a row of flags. Click on the one that relates to the language you prefer and the site will be translated. You can even correct any errors in the translation.
  • Please let me know how this works for you! I can change the languages available and add new ones. So let me know which you use (to make sure I keep it there), or if your language isn’t there yet, let me know in the comments and I will add it for you!

Resources

  • While we’re speaking about languages, under the Resources tab above you can now find a page of Swahili Sayings relating to the environment that you might enjoy.  Let us know in the comments if you know any more (or if you have any corrections to the translations).
  • Also under the Resources tab are some Links. I plan to expand this page with more sections and more links as time goes by, to be as useful to you as possible. So if you have any links you think should be there, or new sections to request, let me know in the comments!
  • The third page under the Resources section is Downloads – which will become a repository for all sorts of interesting materials related to the subjects I blog about – and so far includes a link to the text book I wrote with colleagues at Chumbe back in 2011. Contact me if you want the Kiswahili version!

Ecologue Shop!

  • The third exciting new feature is a shop! Help keep me blogging (and working to support Sustainable East Africa‘s projects) by visiting the new shop pages.
  • There are different ‘departments’ based on where you are shopping from. Ecologue Shop UK is here ~ and Ecologue shop DE here.Others are coming soon – see the Ecologue Shop home page for links (that you can use to shop from for now)!
  • Again – this is supposed to be useful for you, so let me know what you think and what products you’d like to see. If you already have any of the products I’ve listed, I’d love to start including some product reviews from you! So have a look around, start shopping, or follow the links to Amazon websites if you can’t find what you want here (yet).

So enjoy looking around the new features and let me know what you think!

 

Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen!

Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen! published on 1 Comment on Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen!

This is one of the wisest messages I have ever seen.

TED talks are in general exceptional but the following talk by TED fellow Ernesto Sirolli is an absolute must-see.

Readers on limited bandwidth can download the talk as an audio file here, and it is also available at that link with subtitles in many languages (though unfortunately not yet Kiswahili).

For those on very slow internet, topnonprofits.org has a comprehensive written synopsis of the video.

I strongly recommend everyone interested in development and its successes and failures dedicate the time to watch, read, listen, or otherwise imbibe this phenomenal talk.

Although I had been sent the link before, slow internet meant I didn’t end up watching it till a couple of weeks ago. But I’m so glad I finally did!

The whole message is very powerful but there were some bits in particular that really struck a chord and made me think.  So – go and watch it now! And I’ll be back soon with my thoughts!

Welcome to Ecologue!

Welcome to Ecologue! published on No Comments on Welcome to Ecologue!

Welcome to ecologue, my new blog in which I will be posting on all things eco.

Before I get going properly, here is one of my favourite quotations that has inspired me to do what I do.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world;

indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.

– Margaret Mead, Anthropologist –

Primary Sidebar

Secondary Sidebar

%d bloggers like this: