Skip to content

زنجبار دليل الاستدامة الآن على الانترنت!

زنجبار دليل الاستدامة الآن على الانترنت! published on 2 تعليقات في زنجبار دليل الاستدامة الآن على الانترنت!

لقد خلق دليل الاستدامة لزنجبار (وساحل السواحلية), بما في ذلك وصلات لمبادرات مستدامة, المنظمات غير الحكومية والمشاريع, والمعلومات حول كيف يمكننا العيش أكثر استدامة.

آمل أن يكون مصدرا مفيدا للجميع في زنجبار من يهمه الأمر في البيئة, إعادة التدوير, الاستدامة وغيرها من القضايا ذات الصلة. – التحقق من ذلك هنا.

هذا هو مجرد بداية, وأنا أعلم أنني قد غاب عن العديد من المشاريع المثيرة والهامة, لذا فإنني آمل أن تساعد في جعل الموارد وافيا قدر الإمكان عن طريق اقتراح روابط الإضافي الأول قد غاب من خلال النموذج المعد لذلك في صفحة دليل, أو الاتصال بي إذا كانت المعلومات عن مبادرتكم غير صحيحة.

علامة التبويب الموارد جديدة تضاف الآن إلى Ecologue

علامة التبويب الموارد جديدة تضاف الآن إلى Ecologue published on لا توجد تعليقات في علامة التبويب الموارد جديدة تضاف الآن إلى Ecologue

لقد بدأت لإضافة بعض الموارد لEcologue.

تحت موارد التبويب أعلاه ستجد:

  • وصلات, بما في ذلك مزيد من المعلومات حول عملي في شرق أفريقيا المستدامة, والمدونات, وغيرها من المواقع ذات الصلة Zanzbar.
  • التنزيلات – الذي لديه رابط لتحميل (حر) كتاب حول البيئة والاستدامة في زنجبار التي كتبت في حين كنت أعمل في Chumbe.

وسوف يتم إضافة المزيد في هذا القسم – حتى إذا كان لديك أي اقتراحات, أنا أحب أن أسمع عنها في التعليقات!

فرس النهر في الغرفة

فرس النهر في الغرفة published on لا توجد تعليقات في فرس النهر في الغرفة
فرس النهر في زامبيا © فرحات جاه

قلت لك في آخر مشاركة أن هناك بعض أجزاء من بد من مشاهدة الفيديو تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع التي جعلت لي حقا التفكير, وهنا هو أول.

في الجزء الأول من حديثه, ارنستو Sirolli يخبرنا عن حكاية الدروس المستفادة من مشروع المعونة الزراعية في زامبيا (هذا المقتطف من topnonprofits’ موجز)

[ارنستو Sirolli] عملت مع منظمة غير حكومية ايطالية. كان الجميع نوايا كبيرة وأراد حقا للمساعدة. بعد كل ما تلمس فشل.

مثلا, وجاء في جزء من زامبيا بالقرب من نهر زامبيزي، وكانت مندهشة لماذا السكان المحليين في هذا الوادي الخصيب لن يكون لها أي الزراعة. بحيث يدرس الناس لزراعة الطماطم الإيطالية وكوسة.

ولكن الناس لم يكونوا مهتمين.

حتى أنها دفعت لهم للمجيء تعلم ... وأنها أظهرت في بعض الأحيان تصل.

بدلا من أن يسأل لماذا كانوا لا ينمو أي شيء [الجهات المانحة] قال, "الحمد لله نحن هنا. فقط في الوقت المناسب تماما لانقاذ الناس من الموت جوعا زامبيا ".

بالطبع كل شيء في أفريقيا نما بشكل جميل وكانوا يقولون في زامبيا, "انظروا كيف هي الزراعة سهلة."

فقط عندما كانت لطيفة والطماطم الناضجة, [مائتان] جاء أفراس النهر من النهر وأكلت كل شيء.

وقالوا للالزامبيين, "يا إلهي, أفراس النهر!"

وقال الزامبيين, "نعم, هذا هو السبب وليس لدينا الزراعة هنا ".

"لماذا لم تخبرنا?!?"

هل سألت أبدا.

هذه القصة ضربت على وتر حساس حقا معي.

فمن الواضح أنه قبل اتخاذ قرار كان الجواب الزراعة, يجب أولا المنظمات غير الحكومية الإيطالية قد سأل لماذا لم يكن يحدث بالفعل, بدلا من افتراض كان عليه لأن لا أحد كان يعتقد به من قبل. ولكن من طريقة عرض القصة, بعض الناس سماع هذه القصة قد يعتقد أيضا “ولكن اللاعبين المحليين حقا يجب أن تعطى لهم رؤساء نحو أفراس النهر – ضعف التواصل يسير في كلا الاتجاهين”.

وهذا أمر مفهوم, ولكن أريد أن أشرح لماذا أنا لا أعتقد أنه من المعقول أن نتوقع أن.

لقد وجدت في عملي أن قادة وأعضاء المنظمات والجماعات المحلية في كثير من الأحيان لا يشعر بالقدرة على تحدي المانحين, حتى عندما ما المانحين يقولون له العيوب الرئيسية. في البداية, مثل الجهات المانحة زامبيا, وجدت أنه من المحير, محبطة جدا, حتى جارحة. لكن مع مرور الوقت تعلمت أن بصراحة هناك أسباب أحيانا جيدة لتحفظ.

أولا, وتعرض الأجانب, وتقدم نفسها, كخبراء. الناس مع الأجوبة. أنها تأتي مع هذا الموقف الذي يقول 'نحن خبراء. لدينا سنوات عديدة من التدريب والخبرة التي نحن هنا لأطلعكم. كنت لا أعرف لماذا تحتاج هذا الموضوع حتى الآن, ولكن تتحمل معنا, يثقون بنا, وسرعان ما, سترى '.

أكثر براغماتية, لكن, الاستشاريين التي تأتي من الجهات المانحة في الأموال الكبيرة لديها أساسا في جيوبهم: مبالغ كبيرة من المال بشكل لا يصدق بالمقارنة مع الأجور المحلية. تم تصميم المشاريع (وهذا شيء لوظيفة أخرى) لوضع المال في المشاركين المحليين’ جيوب (أو منحهم تي شيرت) لمساعدة تنفيذ المشاريع, ويقاس نجاح المشروع من قبل صناديق موقوتة لأنها قد نفذت أنشطة وإنفاق الأموال المخصصة في الوقت المناسب, بدلا من الواقع جعل الأمور أفضل من خلال مقاييس أقل قابلة للقياس. أقول هذا المانحة التي اقتراحهم يعتقد كاف من خلال, والمال (الذي هو ضروري) يمكن اتخاذها بعيدا.

و, بفضل ترتيبات السلطة والقيود المفروضة على التمويل من الجهات المانحة, هذا هو في الواقع صحيح. هناك نادرا أي المرونة التي بنيت في السماح المشاريع لتكون على التكيف. أغتنم هذه, أو تأخذ شيئا.

إذا كنت تريد أن إحدى المنظمات غير الحكومية التمويل لتنفيذ المشروع, لديك لتحديد (في كثير من الأحيان أشهر مقدما) بالضبط ما المخرجات والنتائج والأنشطة الخاصة بك وسوف يكون, كيف العديد من ورش العمل التي سوف تعقد وعلى ما يعود, كم عدد الكتب التي ستطبع, وكم سيكلف كل شيء (2-3 سنوات من الآن). و لا تنسى تي شيرت!

فمن اقترب منه على المستحيل, ويمكنني أن أؤكد لكم من خبرة, لتأمين التمويل للمشروع من الجهات المانحة التقليدية من خلال شرح بصراحة, "لدينا الكثير من الأفكار التي يمكن أن تعمل, ولكن حتى نصل الى هناك, نحن لا نعرف ما نحن بصدد القيام به, لذلك نحن ذاهبون ليطلب من الناس ونحن نريد أن نساعد كيف يمكننا أن نساعد, وما يحتاجونه, نقول لهم افكارنا, واسمحوا هم اختيار ما نفعله معا '. صدفة, إذا كنت تعرف من المانحين الذين ستقبل مثل هذا الاقتراح, واسمحوا لي أن أعرف!

لذلك ليس من الإنصاف حقا أن نخلص إلى أن المجتمع 'المستفيد' في زامبيا كان على خطأ لعدم إخبار وكالة المساعدات عن أفراس النهر. بعد كل شيء, والزراعة لا عمل لهم, المال والمواد الغذائية كانت شحيحة, وكانوا يجري تقديمها المال لزراعة المحاصيل الغذائية (لأفراس النهر كما يحدث, ولكنها يمكن أن ما لا يقل عن استخدام المال لشراء الطعام في أماكن أخرى). ان المانحين تأتي في المسلحة مع البذور والأدوات. اقول لهم انهم يضيعون وقتهم, أنها سوف تنظر لك غير المتعاونة, ويمكن أن يذهب بعيدا، وأخذ أموالهم معهم.

وتذكر, أيضا, أن المانحين تأتي من البلدان الغنية وقيادة السيارات الكبيرة. أنهم يعرفون بوضوح كيف لكسب المال وتكون ناجحة وجئت لتبادل الخبرات. ربما لديهم بعض أصناف خاصة من الطماطم والكوسة أن أفراس النهر لا تأكل? يبدو من غير المحتمل بالنسبة لنا ولكن من الواضح انهم واثقون جدا, وأنها على استعداد لدفع المال جيدة لنا لزراعتها, لذلك دعونا نضع معهم ونرى ما حيلة لديهم في جعبتهم. ربما أنها قد حصلت على أنها خاطئة, ولكنها سوف تتعلم في النهاية - وعلى الأقل يمكننا أن نأكل اليوم.

ما هو أكثر من ذلك - وعلى الرغم من أنني كنت قد بلدي "فرس النهر" لحظات في تنفيذ المشروع أنا أعترف - وأنا لديها كمية كبيرة جدا من التعاطف مع المجتمع في هذه الحالة.

إذا كان لديك أي وقت مضى إلى وضع حيث هناك النهر مع أفراس النهر في, هل لا أوافق, أن كنت أعرف أن هناك أفراس النهر?

فهي ليست خجولة بالضبط ويتقاعد الحيوانات. نحن لا نتحدث عن الحشرات التي تعيش مخبأة في التربة حتى شهر معين من السنة, أو نوع من الفطريات الطفيلية التي جراثيم وتتحمل بخفاء في مهب الريح. A برنيق هو واضح بدلا 2-3 طن من العضلات الصلبة (مع أسنان كبيرة) أن الأوامر بدلا من الاهتمام, أو في هذه الحالة, مائتان أفراس النهر... مع أفضل ارادة في العالم, أخشى أجد أنه من الصعب أن نتصور بدلا لم يرتكبوه أنفسهم المعروفة.

هكذا, في الظروف, أنا لا يمكن أن تساعد وينبغي إيلاء المجتمع الائتمان هائلة لعدم الرد على الاستجواب المانحين “لماذا لم تخبرنا?!?” مع,

اقول لكم? اقول لكم عن أفراس النهر? اقول لكم ما عنهم? كنا نظن كنت تعرف! شاهد? بحث! أفراس النهر! الحيوانات الكبيرة, المئات منهم, يعيشون في النهر الرش كل يوم والشخير, يخرج ليلا لتناول الطعام النباتي. كيف كنت تفوت عليها? كيف على الأرض وعلينا أن نعرف كنت قد لاحظت عليها? قلت لك كان خبراء وعرف ما كنت تفعل! كنا نظن يجب أن يكون لديك بعض حيلة ذكية أخرى عن سواعدكم! لم يخطر لنا كنت لا تعرف أنهم كانوا هناك!”

لذلك - إذا كنت ترغب في مساعدة - الرجاء, من أجل حب أفراس النهر, يصمت ويستمع! لا تفترض أن يكون لديك كل الأجوبة. وربما كنت لا أعرف حتى لطرح أسئلة, لذلك نسأل أسئلة مفتوحة. نطلب من الناس ما يحتاجون إليه، وتكون على استعداد للاستماع والرد على ما أقول لكم.

وبلدي الشركاء المحليين وغيرهم وأنا بالتعاون مع - إذا كنت أبدا الحصول على حمله بعيدا وننسى - يرجى, أذكر أنني لا أعرف كل شيء, وأنا في بعض الأحيان في حاجة لك أن نشير إلى “هيبو في الغرفة”. وسوف نشكركم على ذلك.

ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع!

ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع! published on 1 تعليق في ارنستو Sirolli: تريد مساعدة شخص ما? اسكت والاستماع!

هذا هو واحد من أحكم الرسائل رأيته في حياتي.

محادثات TED في العام استثنائية ولكن ما يلي التحدث بواسطة TED زميل ارنستو Sirolli مطلقة يجب أن نرى.

القراء على عرض النطاق الترددي محدودة يمكن تحميل الكلام كملف صوتي هنا, وكان متوفرا أيضا في ذلك الرابط مع ترجمة في العديد من اللغات (على الرغم من سوء الحظ لا السواحيلية بعد).

بالنسبة لأولئك على الانترنت بطيئة جدا, topnonprofits.org له موجزا الخطية الشاملة للفيديو.

وإنني أوصي بشدة جميع المهتمين في مجال التنمية ونجاحاتها وإخفاقاتها تكريس الوقت لمشاهدة, قرأ, استمع, أو غير ذلك تشرب هذا الكلام الهائل.

على الرغم من أنني قد أرسلت الرابط قبل, الانترنت بطيئة يعني أنني لم ينتهي مشاهدته حتى بضعة أسابيع مضت. ولكن أنا سعيدة للغاية فعلت أخيرا!

الرسالة كاملة هي قوية جدا ولكن كانت هناك بعض البتات على وجه الخصوص التي ضربت على وتر حساس حقا وجعلني أفكر. هكذا – ذهاب ومشاهدته الآن! وسأعود قريبا مع أفكاري!

تنظيف الشاطئ مع تي شيرت (والمؤسف الأفكار الأخرى)

تنظيف الشاطئ مع تي شيرت (والمؤسف الأفكار الأخرى) published on 5 تعليقات في تنظيف الشاطئ مع تي شيرت (والمؤسف الأفكار الأخرى)

بعد وقت قصير من وصولي في زنجبار منذ ثلاث سنوات, أنا منسقة ورشة عمل تدريبية لأعضاء منظمة غير حكومية محلية رائعة, JAMABECO. كانت دوافع بجدية ونفذت الوعي البيئي الناجح وبرنامج تنظيف في قريتهم من جامبياني على الساحل الشرقي من اونجوجا, زنجبار. كان هدفنا في ورشة العمل للتخطيط الشواطئ النظيفة المنبثقة في عشر مجتمعات جديدة في جميع أنحاء جنوب اونجوجا. أنا متحمس جدا وشعرت أنها كانت تسير على ما يرام.

سألت المشاركين أن تقول لي ما هي المعدات التي يحتاجونها لعقد عمليات التنظيف, تتوقع إجابات مثل "قفازات", "أكياس", "المشط".

الجواب الأول جدا طرقت لي جانبية:

"نحن بحاجة القمصان. '

تي شيرت?

كيف? ما? لو أنها فهم السؤال? عدد شيء واحد تحتاج إلى تنظيف الشاطئ هو تي شيرت? لماذا على وجه الأرض?

ولكن رؤساء الايماء في جميع أنحاء الغرفة وقال لي أنها كانت خطيرة للغاية.

المشكلة, جئت في وقت قريب لتحقيق, كان هذا.

على الرغم من أنها قد نفذت العديد من عمليات تنظيف الشاطئ وغيرها من الأنشطة في الماضي - قد كان لديهم دائما رعاية من الجهات المانحة في الخارج لتنفيذ الأحداث. وتحتاج الجهات المانحة أدلة تثبت كيف تم إنفاق المال, والأدلة من الأمور. انهم بحاجة الرؤية. أيضا صورا لأطفال أفريقيا سعيدة. أيضا لابد من الميزانية التي تنفقها نهاية الربع. لذلك دعونا يكون حدثا مبهرج كبيرة! الكثير من الصور مع شعار وكالة المعونة مرئية! ما يمكن أن يكون أفضل من الكثير من الناس والاطفال سعيدة لطيف في القمصان رشت مع شعارك? وشاطئ نظيف! خيالي! الجميع لديهم ملفات تعريف الارتباط!

ولكن ماذا سيحدث بعد ذلك? هنا كان لدينا ورشة عمل كاملة من الناس الامتلاء مع القلق إزاء التدهور البيئي, مكرسة لاتخاذ الإجراءات, سيكون التخلي عن كل ما لديهم وقت فراغ لسبب ... ولكن الشعور غير قادر تماما على تنفيذ أي أنشطة لنفعل شيئا حيال ذلك حتى شخص قد يأتي لدفع ثمنها. انهم يريدون شيئا أكثر من أن تنظيم عمليات التنظيف الشهرية, أو حتى الأسبوعية, لكنهم لا يستطيعون تي شيرت, لذلك لا يمكن أن يتم.

الشيء هو - تي شيرت هو اختصار. الفقر في زنجبار يعني أن الناس في القرى الريفية يعيشون عادة على أقل من دولار واحد في اليوم. حفظ عائلتك الملبس كاف يشكل تحديا كبيرا, وجديد تي شيرت واحد يمثل الدخل بضعة أيام ' (إذا كنت حتى الحصول على وظيفة). إعطاء القمصان مبالغ حافز كبير للمشاركة. وهذا يعني لا يلزم تشجيع مزيد من الفوائد الملموسة أقل, الجميع سوف يكون هناك مع أجراس على. إقبالا كبيرا! عمل متقن!

الواقع هو أنه في المجتمعات الريفية, الناس غالبا ما تتسامح مع القمامة والأوساخ لأنها لم تكن تعلم ان هناك تكاليف. بالإضافة (على الرغم من أنه آخذ في التغير ببطء) هناك في الأساس ليست خدمة جمع النفايات ومكان لأعتبر. بالضبط ما يفترض ان يفعله الناس مع القمامة، باستثناء تركه على الشاطئ?

قال لي صديق لي الذي لديه الفندق في نفس القرية قصة مماثلة. المتاخمة لصاحب فندق الشاطئ هو رقعة صغيرة من الغابات الأصلية. ان المجتمع تم استخدامه بمثابة تفريغ النفايات وتسبب كل من هو وضيوفه بعض الضيق. للوصول إلى جيرانه انه تقدم لهم القليل من المال لتنظيف النفايات وأعتبر بعيدا, وفعلوا ذلك مع الهمة. في اليوم التالي, لكن, استيقظ مذعور لإيجاد المكان الكامل من القمامة مرة أخرى والقرويين يطرق الباب, يطلبون المال لتنظيفه مرة أخرى.

يتعلق الامر لإيجاد الحوافز المناسبة. عندما يكون الناس الفقراء, خلق فرص عمل يبدو حلا واضحا. ولكن عند النظر فيه من منظور اقتصادي, إذا كنت تدفع الناس (أو منحهم تي شيرت) لتنظيف الشاطئ, كنت أقول لهم أن لديهم الموارد التي تستحق شيئا, وهذا هو قيمة, شاطئ القذرة. عقد الخاصة بك كبيرة تنظيف, نعطيه تي شيرت, أو دفع الجيران - أيا كان. هناك أي حافز للحفاظ على الواقع نظيفة. أفضل بكثير, بالتأكيد, للتأكد من أنه يحصل القذرة مرة أخرى بسرعة حتى الناس سوف تأتي عاجلا مع أكثر القمصان والمزيد من فرص العمل.

وعندما تذهب بعيدا, الناس مثل JAMABECO الذين لا الرعاية, كثيرا, عن حالة البيئة, يتم ترك شعور أنها يمكن أن تفعل شيئا حيال ذلك.

فكيف يمكننا أن نفعل ما هو أفضل?

مرة أخرى في ورشة عمل بلدي, قضينا الأيام المقبلة مع التركيز على تقنيات التحفيز البديلة. كان لدينا جلسات جانبية - تخيل أنك تتحدث إلى الأم, المعلم, مالك الفندق - لماذا يجب أن الرعاية? ما هي فوائد شاطئ نظيف? نسيان التنوع البيولوجي البحري أو الطيور طفل يتضورون جوعا في الجزر المحيطية على بعد آلاف الأميال. تلك الأشياء بطبيعة الحال, هائل, ولكن لمن?

يبقيه محليا ذات الصلة. التحدث الى الناس حول ما يهم فعلا لهم, يوما بعد يوم. التحدث مع الأمهات حول صحة أطفالهم - إذا كان هناك الحفاضات القذرة (حفاضات) على الشاطئ حيث كنت جمع المحار أيضا لتغذية عائلتك, وأنها سوف تحصل على المرضى. إذا الصيد لكم الرزق, وهناك من البلاستيك في المحيط, سوف أكله السمك, كتل عليه الشجاعة، وأنها سوف تموت. إذا كنت تعمل في الفندق مع الشاطئ القذرة, سيتم بالاشمئزاز السياح وسوف يغادر, لذلك تدعم المبادرة مجتمعك لتنظيف الشاطئ, تقدم لهم عربات اليد, شراء قفازات, السماح لهم غسل أيديهم في الفندق الخاص بك بعد ذلك. التنفس الأبخرة الناتجة عن حرق البلاستيك يزيد من خطر الأمراض مثل السرطان وأمراض الرئة. كبير على معلومات سرية: إذا كنت تريد حقا لسحب قلوب عاطفية, روابط الإجهاد إلى العجز الجنسي والعقم.

وهل تعرف ما? انها عملت.

ذهب فريق من المتطوعين الند للند مرب بها وأمضى الأسابيع القليلة القادمة إدخال أفكار البيئة والاستدامة في المجتمعات الجديدة, و, مسلحين فقط مع المعلومات حول مخاطر محليا ذات الصلة التي يشكلها التلوث, دوافع المشاركة الهائلة في الأحداث تنظيف. تحولت حرفيا الآلاف من الناس على المشاركة, وجمعت عدة أطنان من النفايات, وعرضت أي حافز آخر غير معرفة لماذا سيكون من يستحق ذلك.

وأنه لم يكن لمرة واحدة: المجتمعات الجديدة التي تشكلت نوادي البيئة, اللجان والمنظمات غير الحكومية نفسها. أصبحت عمليات التنظيف الشهري وحتى في مجتمع واحد حدثا الأسبوعية.

وهل تعرف ماذا حدث? وبعد بضعة أشهر دعاني JAMABECO لحضور الحدث تنظيف الشاطئ في المجتمع في شمال الجزيرة, خارج نطاق شراكتنا وليس في الميزانية. ولقد تحققت حتى يتمكنوا من نجاح النهج الجديد, فخورة جدا من أنفسهم وتمكينها من مهارات جديدة وجدت لها, التي كانت تمولها ونظمت ما بأنفسهم.

نعم, هذا النهج هو أكثر تعقيدا, ونعم, يستغرق وقتا أطول، وكنت قد حصلت على كل تلك الأموال التي لديه لإنفاقها بحلول نهاية الفترة المشمولة بالتقرير… ولكن الرشوة من قبل تي شيرت باعتبارها حافزا الوحيد يعزز الاعتماد, يمنع الإبداع, demotivates وdisempowers. أنه يفتقد نقطة.

كما يحدث, لا بد لي من الاعتراف بأن مشروعنا وقد تم تمويل المانحين, لذلك - على الرغم من أننا أبقاها سرية حتى بعد نجاح أحداثنا تنظيف - أنها حصلت على تي شيرت جدا.

الرجل الأبيض البريطاني يقول الرجل الأبيض الايرلندية إلى 'اخرس والاستماع’ للأفارقة

الرجل الأبيض البريطاني يقول الرجل الأبيض الايرلندية إلى 'اخرس والاستماع’ للأفارقة published on لا توجد تعليقات في الرجل الأبيض البريطاني يقول الرجل الأبيض الايرلندية إلى 'اخرس والاستماع’ للأفارقة

في ضوء اجتماع G8 وبعض "المساعدات الدولية فيما يتعلق بجدية’ السياسة في أفريقيا, كانت هناك أصوات قليلة الصوتية من الانتقادات, وكما في كثير من الأحيان, فقد كان من الجيد أن نرى (كذلك فعلا مقزز جدا لقراءة, لكنه يحتاج إلى أن يقال) جورج مونبيوت في الجدل بليغة وجادل جيدا إلقاء الضوء على بعض من المفاوضات التجارية المزدوجة التي تمت حديثا بين دول G8 والدول الافريقية.

لكن, بينما وأنا أتفق مع هذه النقطة هو جعل في كتابه أحدث المقال انتقاد بونو "وأمثاله’ لتهيمن على الحديث عن أفريقيا في الخطاب الدولي, فإنه لا يبدو النفاق قليلا.

لقد سمعت نفس الشكوى مرارا وتكرارا: أن بونو وآخرين مثله قد استولت على الفضاء السياسي الذي قد خلاف ذلك وقد احتلت من قبل الأفارقة عن الذين يتحدثون. لأنه ينظر بونو زعماء العالم كممثل للفقراء, الفقراء لا مدعوون للتحدث. هذا يعمل بشكل جيد جدا للجميع – باستثناء لهم.

يقول رجل أبيض البريطانية.

تواصل مونبيوت:

هناك قصة مشكوك فيها إذا المعروف أن يدعي أن في الحفل في غلاسكو بدأ بونو بطيئة اليد والتصفيق. ومن المفترض انه قد أعلنت: “في كل مرة كنت التصفيق يدي, يموت طفل في أفريقيا.” صاح عندها someon في الحضور: “كذلك سخيف يتوقف عن فعل ذلك الحين.” انها نصيحة جيدة, وأتمنى عنيدا وأعتبر.

جورج – أحيي أطروحة الخاص, وشكرا للفت الانتباه إلى هذه القضايا, لذا يرجى يبقيه – لكن – هل يمكن ربما استخدام النظام الأساسي الخاص بك بالفخر لإعطاء صوت أعلى من صوت لبعض من الناشطين الأفارقة الذين كنت قد تم الاستماع إلى, وتوجيه القراء’ الانتباه إلى بعض من هذا التعليق الأفريقية التي كنت مطلعا?

أنا واحد أود أن أسمع ما لديهم ليقولونه.

Primary Sidebar

Secondary Sidebar

مدونون معجبون بهذه:

Skip to content

Zanzibar Sustainability Directory now online!

Zanzibar Sustainability Directory now online! published on 2 Comments on Zanzibar Sustainability Directory now online!

I have created a Sustainability Directory for Zanzibar (and the Swahili Coast), including links for sustainable initiatives, NGOs and projects, and information about how we can live more sustainably.

I hope it will be a useful resource for everyone in Zanzibar who is interested in the environment, recycling, sustainability and other related issues. – Check it out here.

This is just the start, and I know I have missed many exciting and important projects, so I hope you will help make the resource as comprehensive as possible by suggesting additional links I might have missed through the form provided on the Directory page, or contact me if the information about your initiative is incorrect.

New resources tab now added to Ecologue

New resources tab now added to Ecologue published on No Comments on New resources tab now added to Ecologue

I’ve started to add some resources to Ecologue.

under the Resources tab above you will find:

  • Links, including more information about my work at Sustainable East Africa, a blogroll, and other Zanzbar-related sites.
  • Downloads – which has a link to download (free) the book about the environment and sustainability in Zanzibar that I wrote while I worked at Chumbe.

I will be adding more to this section – so if you have any suggestions, I would love to hear about them in the comments!

The hippo in the room

The hippo in the room published on No Comments on The hippo in the room
Hippo in Zambia © Farhat Jah

I told you in the last post that there were some bits of must-watch video Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen that really made me think, and here is the first.

In the first part of his talk, Ernesto Sirolli tells us an anecdote about Lessons from an Agricultural Aid project in Zambia (this extract from topnonprofits’ synopsis)

[Ernesto Sirolli] Worked with an Italian NGO. Everyone had great intentions and truly wanted to help. Yet everything they touch failed.

For example, the came to part of Zambia near the Zambezi River and were amazed why the local people in such a fertile valley would have no agriculture. So they taught people to grow Italian tomatoes and zucchini.

But the people weren’t interested.

So they paid them to come learn…and sometimes they showed up.

Instead of asking why they weren’t growing anything [the donors] said, “Thank God we are here. Just in nick of time to save the Zambian people from starvation.”

Of course everything in Africa grew beautifully and they were telling the Zambians, “Look how easy agriculture is.”

Just when the tomatoes were nice and ripe, [two hundred] hippos came out of the river and ate everything.

And they said to the Zambians, “My God, the hippos!”

And the Zambians said, “Yes, that is why we have no agriculture here.”

“Why didn’t you tell us?!?”

You never asked.

This story truly struck a chord with me.

It is clear that before deciding agriculture was the answer, the Italian NGO ought first to have asked why it wasn’t already happening, rather than assuming it was because nobody had thought of it before. But from the way the story is presented, some people hearing this story might also think “but the local guys really ought to have given them a heads up about the hippos – poor communication goes both ways”.

This is understandable, but I want to explain why I don’t think it is reasonable to expect that.

I have found in my work that leaders and members of local organisations and groups too often do not feel empowered to challenge donors, even when what the donors are saying has major flaws. At first, like the Zambian donors, I found it baffling, enormously frustrating, even hurtful. But over time I have learned that frankly there are sometimes pretty good reasons for reticence.

Firstly, foreigners are presented, and present themselves, as experts. People with the answers. They come with an attitude that says ‘We are experts. We have many years of training and experience that we are here to share with you. You don’t know why you need this yet, but bear with us, trust us, and soon, you will see’.

More pragmatically, however, consultants that come in from large donors essentially have money in their pocket: inconceivably large sums of money in comparison with local wages. Projects are designed (and this is something for another post) to put money in local participants’ pockets (or give them T-shirts) for helping implement projects, and project success is measured by ticking boxes for having carried out activities and spent the money allocated in a timely fashion, rather than by actually making things better through less measurable metrics. Tell such a donor that their proposal is inadequately thought through, and the money (which is needed) might be taken away.

And, thanks to power arrangements and limitations of donor-funding, this is in fact true. There is seldom any flexibility built in to allow projects to be adaptive. Take this, or take nothing.

If you are an NGO that wants funding to carry out a project, you have to define (often months in advance) exactly what your outputs and outcomes and activities will be, how many workshops you will hold and on what dates, how many books you will print, and how much everything will cost (2-3 years from now). And don’t forget the T-shirts!

It is nigh-on impossible, I can assure you from experience, to secure funding for a project from conventional donors by honestly explaining, ‘We have lots of ideas that might work, but until we get out there, we don’t know what we’re going to do, so we’re going to ask the people we want to help how we can help, and what they need, tell them our ideas, and let them choose what we do together’. Incidentally, if you know of a donor who would accept such a proposal, please let me know!

So it is not really fair to surmise that the ‘beneficiary’ community in Zambia was at fault for not telling the aid agency about the hippos. After all, agriculture was not working for them, money and food were scarce, and they were being offered money to grow food (for the hippos as it happens, but they could at least use the money to buy food elsewhere). The donors had come in armed with seeds and tools. Tell them they are wasting their time, they will consider you uncooperative, and may go away and take their money with them.

And remember, too, that the donors come from rich countries and drive big cars. They clearly know how to make money and be successful and have come to share expertise. Perhaps they have some special varieties of tomato and zucchini that hippos don’t eat? It seems unlikely to us but they’re clearly very confident, and they are willing to pay us good money to grow them, so let’s bear with them and see what trick they’ve got up their sleeve. Perhaps they have got it wrong, but they’ll learn eventually – and at least we can eat today.

What’s more – and although I’ve had my own ‘hippo’ moments in project implementation I’ll admit – I have a particularly large amount of sympathy for the community in this case.

If you have ever been to place where there is a river with hippos in, do you not agree, that you knew the hippos were there?

They are not exactly shy and retiring animals. We’re not talking about insects that live hidden in the soil until one particular month of the year, or a parasitic fungus whose spores are borne invisibly in the wind. A hippopotamus is a rather conspicuous 2-3 tonnes of solid muscle (with big teeth) that rather commands attention, or in this case, two hundred hippos… With the best will in the world, I am afraid I find it rather hard to imagine they hadn’t made themselves known.

So, in the circumstances, I can’t help the community should be given enormous credit for not responding to the donors’ questioning “Why didn’t you tell us?!?” with,

Tell you? Tell you about the hippos? Tell you what about them? We thought you knew! See? Look! Hippos! Big animals, hundreds of them, they live in the river all day splashing and grunting, come out at night to eat vegetation. How did you miss them? How on earth were we to know you hadn’t noticed them? You said you were experts and knew what you were doing! We thought you must have some other clever trick up your sleeves! It didn’t occur to us you didn’t know they were there!”

So – if you want to help – please, for the love of hippos, Shut up and listen! Don’t assume you have all the answers. You probably don’t even know the questions to ask, so ask open questions. Ask people what they need and be prepared to listen and respond to what they tell you.

And to my local partners and others I am collaborating with – if I ever get carried away and forget – please, remember I do not know everything, and I sometimes need you to point out the “hippo in the room”. I will thank you for it.

Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen!

Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen! published on 1 Comment on Ernesto Sirolli: Want to help someone? Shut up and Listen!

This is one of the wisest messages I have ever seen.

TED talks are in general exceptional but the following talk by TED fellow Ernesto Sirolli is an absolute must-see.

Readers on limited bandwidth can download the talk as an audio file here, and it is also available at that link with subtitles in many languages (though unfortunately not yet Kiswahili).

For those on very slow internet, topnonprofits.org has a comprehensive written synopsis of the video.

I strongly recommend everyone interested in development and its successes and failures dedicate the time to watch, read, listen, or otherwise imbibe this phenomenal talk.

Although I had been sent the link before, slow internet meant I didn’t end up watching it till a couple of weeks ago. But I’m so glad I finally did!

The whole message is very powerful but there were some bits in particular that really struck a chord and made me think.  So – go and watch it now! And I’ll be back soon with my thoughts!

Cleaning the beach with T-shirts (and other unfortunate ideas)

Cleaning the beach with T-shirts (and other unfortunate ideas) published on 5 Comments on Cleaning the beach with T-shirts (and other unfortunate ideas)

Shortly after I arrived in Zanzibar three years ago, I coordinated a training workshop for members of a fantastic local NGO, JAMABECO. They were seriously motivated and had implemented a successful environmental awareness and clean-up programme in their village of Jambiani on the east coast of Unguja, Zanzibar. Our objective in the workshop was to plan beach clean-ups in ten new communities around southern Unguja. I was very excited and felt it was going well.

I asked the participants to tell me what equipment they would need to hold the clean-ups, expecting answers like ‘gloves’, ‘bags’, ‘rakes’.

The very first answer knocked me sideways:

‘We need T-shirts.’

T-shirts?

How? What? Had they misunderstood the question? The number one thing you need to clean a beach is a T-shirt? Why on earth?

But the nodding heads around the room told me they were absolutely serious.

The problem, I came shortly to realise, was this.

Although they had carried out numerous beach clean-ups and other activities in the past – they had always had sponsorship from overseas donors to carry out the events. And donors need evidence to show how money was spent, and evidence of things done. They need visibility. Also pictures of happy African kids. Also the budget has to be spent by the end of the quarter. So let’s have a big flashy event! Lots of photos with the aid agency logo visible! What could be better than lots of people and cute happy kids in T-shirts splashed with your logo? And a clean beach! Fantastic! Everybody have a cookie!

But what happens next? Here we had a workshop full of people brimming with concern about environmental degradation, dedicated to taking action, giving up all their free time to the cause… but feeling completely unable to implement any activities to do something about it until someone would come along to pay for it.  They want nothing more than to organise clean-ups monthly, or even weekly, but they can’t afford T-shirts, so it can’t be done.

The thing is – a T-shirt is a shortcut. Poverty in Zanzibar means that people in rural villages typically subsist on less than a dollar a day. Keeping your family adequately clothed is a huge challenge, and one new t-shirt represents a few days’ income (if you even have a job). Giving out T-shirts amounts to a substantial incentive to participate. And this means no further encouragement of less tangible benefits is required, everyone will be there with bells on. Huge turnout! Job well done!

The reality is that in rural communities, people often tolerate litter and dirt because they have never been taught that there are costs. In addition (though it is slowly changing) there is essentially no waste collection service and nowhere to take it. Exactly what are people supposed to do with their rubbish except leave it on the beach?

A friend of mine who has a hotel in the same village told me a similar story. Adjacent to his beach hotel is a small patch of indigenous woodland. The community had been using it as a waste dump and causing both he and his guests some distress. To reach out to his neighbours he offered them a little money to clean the waste and take it away, and they did so with alacrity. The next day, however, he woke aghast to find the place full of rubbish again and the villagers knocking at the door, asking for money to clean it again.

It comes down to finding the right incentives. When people are poor, creating jobs seems an obvious solution. But when you examine it from an economic perspective, if you pay people (or give them T-shirts) to clean the beach, you are telling them that the resource they have which is worth something, that is valuable, is a dirty beach. Hold your big clean-up, give out T-shirts, or pay neighbours – whatever. There is no incentive whatsoever to actually keep it clean. Far better, surely, to ensure it gets dirty again quickly so people will come sooner with more T-shirts and more jobs.

And when you go away, the people like JAMABECO who do care, very much, about the state of the environment, are left feeling they can do nothing about it.

So how can we do better?

Back in my workshop, we spent the next days focussing on alternative motivation techniques. We had breakout sessions – Imagine you’re speaking to a mother, a teacher, a hotel owner – why should they care? What are the benefits of a clean beach? Forget about marine biodiversity or the baby birds starving on oceanic islands thousands of miles away. Those things matter of course, hugely, but to whom?

Keep it locally relevant. Talk to people about what actually matters to them, day-to-day.  Talk to mothers about the health of their children – if there are dirty nappies (diapers) on the beach where you are also collecting shellfish to feed your family, they’ll get sick. If fishing is your livelihood, and there is plastic in the ocean, fish will eat it, it blocks their guts and they will die. If you work in a hotel with a dirty beach, tourists will be disgusted and will leave, so support your community initiative to clean the beach, lend them wheelbarrows, buy gloves, let them wash their hands in your hotel afterwards. Breathing fumes from burning plastic increases risk of diseases like cancer and lung disease. Top tip: if you really want to pull the emotional heartstrings, stress links to impotence and infertility.

And do you know what? It worked.

The volunteer peer-to-peer educator team went out and spent the next few weeks introducing ideas of environment and sustainability into new communities, and, armed only with information about the locally-relevant dangers posed by pollution, motivated enormous participation in the clean-up events. Literally thousands of people turned out to participate, and collected several tonnes of waste, and were offered no incentive other than knowledge of why it would be worth it.

And it wasn’t a one-off: the new communities formed environment clubs, committees and NGOs themselves. Clean-ups became monthly and in one community even a weekly event.

And do you know what else happened?  A few months later JAMABECO invited me to attend a beach clean-up event in a community in the north of the island, outside the remit of our partnership and not in the budget. They were so fulfilled by the success of the new approach, so proud of themselves and empowered by their new-found skills, that they funded and organised it themselves.

Yes, this approach is more complicated, and yes, it takes longer and you’ve got all that cash that has to be spent by the end of the reporting period… But bribery-by-T-shirt as a sole-incentive fosters dependence, inhibits creativity, demotivates and disempowers. It misses the point.

As it happens, I have to admit that our project was donor-funded, so – though we kept it top secret till after our successful clean-up events – they got a T-shirt too.

White British man tells white Irish man to ‘shut up and listen’ to the Africans

White British man tells white Irish man to ‘shut up and listen’ to the Africans published on No Comments on White British man tells white Irish man to ‘shut up and listen’ to the Africans

In the light of the G8 meeting and some seriously concerning international ‘aid’ policy in Africa, there have been few vocal voices of criticism, and as so often, it has been good to see (well actually pretty sickening to read, but it needs to be said) George Monbiot’s eloquent and well-argued polemic throwing light on some of the duplicitous trade negotiations recently made between G8 countries and African countries.

However, while I agree with the point he is making in his latest article criticising Bono ‘and others like him’ for dominating the conversation about Africa in international discourse, it does seem a little hypocritical.

I have heard the same complaint again and again: that Bono and others like him have seized the political space which might otherwise have been occupied by the Africans about whom they are talking. Because Bono is seen by world leaders as the representative of the poor, the poor are not invited to speak. This works very well for everyone – except them.

Says a white British man.

Monbiot continues:

There is a well-known if dubious story that claims that at a concert in Glasgow Bono began a slow hand-clap. He is supposed to have announced: “Every time I clap my hands, a child in Africa dies.” Whereupon someon in the audience shouted: “Well fucking stop doing it then.” It’s good advice, and I wish he’d take it.

George – I applaud your thesis, and thank you for bringing attention to these issues, so please keep it up – but – could you perhaps use your privileged platform to give a louder voice to some of the African activists who you have been listening to, and direct your readers’ attention to some of this African commentary to which you are privy?

I for one would like to hear what they have to say.

Primary Sidebar

Secondary Sidebar

%d bloggers like this: